Parish Events

2019 Calendar of Events

Wednesday, January 23
Newly Elected Vestry Members Luncheon

Friday, January 25
Staff Gathering with Doug Fishburne

Friday, January 25 – 26
Vestry Retreat, Still Hopes Conference Center

Sunday, January 27
Tea Party, 3 – 5 pm, Multipurpose Room

February – November 2019 (Summer Break: June – August)
Confirmation Classes
First and Third Sundays, 9:30 am, Upper Level

Wednesday, February 6
Good Book Club Dinner, Dining Room
Leigh Jones, Meal; Nicholas and Lee Rambo: Program

Wednesday, February 13
MOSJ Annual Meeting, Gym, 6:00 pm

Friday, February 22 – Sunday, February 24
SMASH, Senior High Retreat, Camp Bob/Kanuga

Friday, February 23 – Sunday, February 25
Cange Symposium

Friday, March 1 – Sunday, March 3
Parish Weekend at Kanuga
Kanuga Conference Center

Sunday, March 3 – Sunday, March 10
Family Promise Week

Saturday, March 10
Daylight Savings Time begins

Tuesday, March 5
Shrove Tuesday, 6 pm, Pancake Supper (MOSJ), Gym (with music performances/talent show?)
Good Book Club/Reading of Romans Wrap Up

Wednesday, March 6
Ash Wednesday Services
7:45 am, 12 pm and 6 pm

Wednesdays, March 13 – April 11
Wednesday Nights Programs & Dinner during Lent

Friday, March 15- Sunday, March 17
Happening #81, Gravatt

March 23 or 24
Oyster Roast (with Chili option), MOSJ, King’s Grant Clubhouse

Tuesday, April 10
Harvest Hope Luncheon, 12 pm, Gym

Thursday, April 11
Clericus Meeting, 9 am – 12 pm, Dining Room
Morning Prayer in Chapel, lower level

Sunday, April 14
Palm Sunday
Reception on the Patio following 10:30 am service
Fellowship Breakfast, 9:00 am, Gym
Sunday School will be held at 9:30 am
Easter Egg Hunt, 4 pm, Still Hopes

Monday, April 15
Holy Eucharist - daily
6 pm, Chapel

Tuesday, April 16
Holy Eucharist - daily
6 pm, Chapel

Wednesday, April 17
Holy Eucharist - daily
6 pm, Chapel

Thursday, April 18
Maundy Thursday Service, 6 pm, Followed by All Night Watch
Nursery Provided

Friday, April 19
Good Friday Service, 12 pm, Church
Nursery Provided
Decorating for Easter following the Service
Office Closed at 12 pm

Sunday, April 21
Easter Sunday Services: 7:45, 9:00 & 11:00 am
No Sunday School
No Fellowship Breakfast
Nursery Provided
Bring Fresh Flowers to Decorate the Cross

Monday, April 22
Parish Office Closed

Sunday, April 28
Baptisms, 10:30 am

Sunday, May 5
Gravatt Sunday, 10:30 am Service, Gravatt
8 am and 10:30 am Services at SJE
No Sunday School, No Children’s Chapel, No Fellowship Breakfast

Sunday, May 12
Youth Sunday & Mother’s Day (Selah to Lead Music)
Fellowship Breakfast, 9:00
Sunday School, 9:30
Reception on the Patio hosted by Family Ministries

Sunday, May 19
Fellowship Breakfast, 9:00 am
Last Day of Sunday School, 9:30 am
Teacher Appreciation Sunday
Reception on the patio hosted by Adult Formation & Family Ministries

May 23 – July 14
Associate Priest on Sabbatical

Sunday, May 26 – Sunday, June 2
Family Promise Week

Friday, June 7 – Sunday, June 9
Service in the Soda City

Sunday, June 9
Pentecost Sunday
Baptisms, 10:30 am
Pentecost Luncheon (or celebration), Gym & Patio by the Gym, Hosted by Vestry

Monday, June 3 – Thursday, June 6
Monday, June 10 – Thursday, June 13
(To Be Confirmed)
Vacation Bible School (Family Ministries)

Sunday, June 23
Convocation Meeting, 3 pm, Multipurpose Room

Thursday, July 4 & 5
Parish Office Closed

Monday, July 8 – Thursday, July 18
Quito Ecuador Hope Team

July 21 – 27
HomeWorks Johns Island

To Be Determined
July Province IV – Youth Mission Trip to NC

Sunday, August 4 – Sunday, August 11
Family Promise Week

Sunday, August 18
Backpack Blessings

Sunday, August 25
Welcome Back Sunday (Lunch)

Monday, September 2
Parish Office Closed

Sunday, September 8
EYC Kick-off
Sunday School begins

Wednesday, September 11 – Wednesday, October 30
Wednesday Night Programs & Supper

Sunday, September 15
Baptisms, 10:30 am

Sunday, October 6
Pet Blessings, 4 pm, Outside on the Patio

Sunday October 27
Trunk or Treat

Sunday, October 27 – Sunday, November 3
Family Promise Week

Late October/early November To Be Determined
MOC Steak Supper and Shrimp Sale

Sunday, November 3
All Saints Sunday/Baptisms
Fellowship Breakfast, 9:00 am
Sunday School, 9:30 am

Sunday, November 17, 2019
Bishop’s Visitation
Bishop’s Forum and Reception
Confirmation Sunday

Sunday, November 24
Harvest Eve Service (Music) and Dinner (MOSJ)

Thanksgiving Day, Thursday, November 28
Office Closed and the Day After

Advent Festival/To Be Determined (Family Ministries)

Sunday, December 1 (First Sunday of Advent)
Annual Meeting & Elections

Wednesdays, December 4, 11 & 18
Advent Wednesdays – Service & Meal

Keenagers Christmas Luncheon
Thursday, December 5, 12:00 pm, Dining Room

Tuesday, December 24
Christmas Eve Services
4:00 pm, Holy Eucharist with Children’s Sermon & Choirs
Children’s Choir Carol Prelude begins at 3:45 pm
Milk and Cookies on the patio after 4 pm and before 5:30 pm services
5:30 pm
Festival Holy Eucharist with Volunteer Choir, Trumpets
10:30 pm
Festival Holy Eucharist with Chancel Choir and Instruments
Choral Program of Christmas Carols and Anthems begins at 10:00 pm

Wednesday, December 25
Christmas Day Service
10:30 am, with Bishop Duvall

Sunday, December 29
Services at 8 am and 10:30 am
No Sunday School or Fellowship Breakfast