Parish Events

2020 Calendar of Events

Sunday, January 12
Baptisms, Fellowship Breakfast & Sunday School

Sunday, January 12 – 19
Family Promise Week

Monday, January 20 (MLK, Jr. Day)
Office Closed

Monday, January 20
Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Discussion & Event, 4 pm, Lower Level of Heyward Hall

Friday January 24 & Saturday, January 25
Vestry Retreat, Trinity Episcopal Cathedral

Sunday, January 26
The Rev. Will Brown, preaching, teaching and speaker

Sunday, January 26
Ladies Tea Party, 3 – 5 pm, Lower Level of Heyward Hall

Monday, January 27
MOSJ Annual Meeting, 6:00 pm, Barr Center

Sunday, February 16
Midlands Convention at SJE, 3 pm, Lower Level of Heyward Hall

Friday, February 21 – Saturday, February 22
Happening, Dining Room, Gym. Upper Level of Hall

Tuesday, February 25
Shrove Tuesday, 6 pm, Pancake Supper (MOSJ) with Open Mic, Gym

Wednesday, February 26
Ash Wednesday
Services 7:45 am, 12 pm and 6 pm

Wednesdays, March 4 – April 1
Wednesday Nights Programs & Dinner during Lent

Friday, March 6 – Sunday, March 8
Parish Weekend at Kanuga, Kanuga Conference Center, Hendersonville, NC

Saturday, March 8
Daylight Savings Time begins
No Fellowship Breakfast & No Sunday School

Saturday, April 4
Property Committee Grounds Day, 9 am – 1 pm

Sunday, April 5
Palm Sunday

Reception on the Patio following 10:30 am service
Fellowship Breakfast, 9:00 am, Gym
Sunday School will be held at 9:30 am
Easter Egg Hunt, 4 pm, Still Hopes

Monday, April 6
Holy Eucharist - daily
6 pm, Chapel

Tuesday, April 7
Holy Eucharist – daily, 6 pm, Chapel

Wednesday, April 8
Holy Eucharist – daily, 6 pm, Chapel

Thursday, April 9
Maundy Thursday Service, 6 pm, Followed by All Night Watch
Nursery Provided

Friday, April 10
Good Friday Service, 12 pm, Church
Nursery Provided
Decorating for Easter following the Service
Office Closed at 12 pm

Sunday, April 12
Easter Sunday Services: 7:45, 9:00 & 11:00 am
No Sunday School
No Fellowship Breakfast
Nursery Provided
Bring Fresh Flowers to Decorate the Cross

Easter Monday, April 13
Parish Office Closed

Sunday, May 3 – May 10
Family Promise Week

Sunday, May 3
Gravatt Sunday, 10:30 am Service, Gravatt
8 am and 10:30 am Services at St. John’s
No Sunday School, No Children’s Chapel, No Fellowship Breakfast

Sunday, May 10
Youth Sunday & Mother’s Day (Selah to Lead Music)
Fellowship Breakfast, 9:00
Sunday School, 9:30
Reception on the Patio hosted by Family Ministries

Sunday, May 17
Fellowship Breakfast, 9:00 am
Last Day of Sunday School, 9:30 am
Teacher Appreciation Sunday
Reception on the patio hosted by Adult Formation & Children’s/Youth Formation

Sunday, May 24
No Sunday School & No Fellowship Breakfast from May 24 – September 6

Monday, May 25
Memorial Day, Office Closed

Sunday, May 31
Pentecost Sunday
Baptisms
Celebration at the Park, hosted by Vestry

Sunday, May 26 – Sunday, June 2
Family Promise Week

Sunday, June 7
Trinity Sunday

Monday, June 8 – Thursday, June 11
Vacation Bible School (Family Ministries)

Thursday, July 4 & 5
Parish Office Closed

Sunday, August 23
Backpack Blessings

Sunday, August 30
Welcome Back Sunday (Lunch)

Monday, September 7
Labor Day, Parish Office Closed

Sunday, September 13
EYC Kick-off, Fellowship Breakfast & Sunday School begins